The 2021 Bulwer-Lytton Fiction Contest Winners

The annual Bulwer-Lytton Fiction Contest for 2021 has drawn to a close. Since 1982, the contest has been run by now-retired Professor Scott Rice of San Jose State University, in order to challenge writers and would-be writers to come up with the opening sentence to the world’s worst novel. It’s a tribute to author Edward George Bulwer-Lytton, once a widely-read author, now mostly known for the contest that bears his name. The winners have been announced. The Grand Prize goes to Stu Duval of Auckland, New Zealand.

A lecherous sunrise flaunted itself over a flatulent sea, ripping the obsidian bodice of night asunder with its rapacious fingers of gold, thus exposing her dusky bosom to the dawn’s ogling stare.

David Hynes of Bromma, Sweden, won the Grand Panjamdrum’s Special Award.  

Listen beautiful relax classics on our Youtube channel.

Victor Frankenstein admired his masterpiece stretched out on the lab slab; it was almost human, OK, no conscience or social awareness, and not too bright, but a little plastic surgery to hide the scars and bolts, maybe a spray tan and a hairdo, and this guy could run for President!

Read the winners in the categories of Adventure, Children’s & Young Adult Literature, Crime & Detective, Dark & Stormy, Fantasy & Horror, Historical Fiction, Purple Prose, Romance, Science Fiction, Vile Puns, Western, and Odious Outliers, plus dishonorable mentions in each, at the contest site.

Source: neatorama

No votes yet.
Please wait...